Print this pagePrint  |  Bookmark this pageBookmark    

Who is Who

Mr Ko Dae-young

President & CEO (KBS-Korea)

Mr Ko Dae-young was unanimously elected President of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union at the 53rd General Assembly held in October 2016. His term of office is for three years. Mr Ko, a career and accomplished broadcast journalist, was appointed in November 2015 as the 22nd President and CEO of Korean Broadcasting System (KBS).  He has more than 30 years’ experience in public broadcasting. He joined KBS as a TV reporter in 1985 and has since held key positions including foreign correspondent to Moscow, Russia. He was Executive Director of News Department and Executive Managing Director of News & Sports Division. In 2013, he became General Auditor for KBS Media and one year later he was appointed President of KBS Business.

Mr Ko Dae-young also held an Adjunct Professorship at Sookmyung Women’s University. As a reporter and journalist, he earned the 7th Korean Journalistic Verity Award (2011) for his outstanding contribution to the field. Born in 1955, Mr Ko studied English Linguistics at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul.

Vice President
Mr Hikaru Doumoto

Executive Vice-President (NHK-Japan)

Mr Hikaru Doumoto was Acting President of the ABU from 24 November 2015 to 25 October 2016. He was appointed Executive Vice-President of NHK in February 2014. Mr Doumoto's career with NHK spans more than 40 years during which he has been extensively involved in developing and managing news and programmes at different levels. In 2000, he became the head of the political news division at NHK’s news department and in 2005 he became the head of News Department, which is in charge of the news affairs of NHK as a whole. He was assigned to the head of NHK Osaka Station in 2006, and was appointed as a board member of the affiliate company NHK Planet, Inc. in 2011, before assuming his current post at NHK.
Vice President
Ms Supriya Sahu

Director General (Doordarshan-India)

Supriya Sahu is a senior Indian Administrative Service officer. Presently, she is heading Doordarshan, the National Television Network and the Public Service Broadcaster of India. Before joining Doordarshan she was Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. She worked extensively with Doordarshan and All India Radio on the expansion and modernisation of their network. She also handled the allocation of planned programmes of Prasar Bharati, including content funding.

Supriya Sahu was awarded the Best Collector Award and the Green Award by the Government of Tamil Nadu, India. She was elected ABU Vice President in October 2016 at the 53rd ABU General Assembly in Bali, Indonesia.

Vice President
Mr SUN Yusheng

Vice President CCTV & Executive VP CGTN – China

Mr SUN Yusheng is currently the Vice President of CCTV, the Executive Vice President of China Global Television Network (CGTN) and the Chairman of China Global Television Network Corporation.

He was elected Vice President of the ABU on 4 November 2017 in Chengdu, China at the ABU 54th General Assembly. His term will be for 3 years with immediate effect.

After graduating from Jilin University, he started his journalism career in China Central Television (CCTV) in 1984. As from 1997 he is supervising the public signal production and the live TV coverage of the important events, such as Hong Kong’s Return, Macao’s Return, National Day Military Parade, Encounter in the Millennium, the Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation and the BRICS Summit.

His publications include Ten Years - a monograph on TV news theory.
Dr Javad Mottaghi Secretary-General
Dr Javad Mottaghi

Dr Javad Mottaghi is the Secretary-General of the ABU. He was appointed on 8 January 2010 and assumed office on 3 May 2010. Before joining the ABU, he was Director of the Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD) for 12 years.

He has 35 years of national and international experience in media/communication in the following areas: international affairs, media/communication development and broadcasting, AV productions and co-production, ICTs, capacity building, networking, research, publications, negotiations, fund raising, news and programming for radio and television, social and cultural television programmes and sports coverage. Read more

Back to Top